NMSU Baseball Headed To Lubbock For NCAA Regional

Written By: WAC Media Relations

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - After winning their first ever WAC Baseball Tournament, the NM State Aggies found out on Monday morning where they will start their road to Omaha. The Aggies are headed to Lubbock, Texas and will take on host Texxas Tech on Friday.

The Aggies (40-20) overcame a 15-inning loss late Saturday into Sunday morning to hold off Sacramento State on Sunday in a winner-take-all championship game. Tristen Carranza was named tournament MVP after going 10-for-21 from the plate with three doubles, three runs scored and seven RBIs. He was joined on the all-tournament team by teammate Kyle Bradish, Jonathan Groff, Marcus Still and Brock Whittlesey.

On the year, the Aggies are hitting .313 as a team, the fifth-best average in the nation, and are averaging 8.2 runs per game, fourth-best in the country. 2018 WAC Freshman of the Year Nick Gonzales leads the Aggies with a .349 average, adding 17 doubles, two triples, nine home runs and 36 RBIs. On the hill, WAC Pitcher of the Year Jonathan Groff holds an 11-2 overall record with a 2.49 ERA. Teammate Kyle Bradish has a school-record 131 strikeouts in 93.2 innings pitched.

Texas Tech is 39-17 this season, including 23-5 at home, and finished third in the Big 12 during the regular season. The Red Reaiders are led offenseively by Josh Jung, who is hitting .381 with 16 doubles, six triples, 11 home runs and 73 RBIs. On the hill, Caleb Kilian is TTU's ace, posting an 8-1 record with a 2.30 ERA and 53 strikeouts in 58.2 innings pitched. Ryan Shetter is 4-0 for the Red Raiders with a 3.07 ERA.

NM State and Texas Tech have already faced off twice this year. After the Red Raiders earned a 12-0 win in Lubbock on Feb. 20, the Aggies nearly knocked off the then fifth-ranked Red Raiders on April 3 before Texas Tech earned a 2-1 walkoff win in Midland, Texas. NMSU and TTU were also scheduled to meet March 27 in Las Cruces but the teams mutually agreed to cancel the game to focus on conference play.

On the other side of the bracket, Louisville is the number two seed and Kent State is the number three seed. Louisville heads to the Lone Star State with 43-17 record after taking third in the ACC Atlantic division. The Cardinals fell to Florida State in the ACC Championship game on Sunday in Durham, N.C. Kent State begins the road to Omaha with a 39-16 record and defeated Miami (Ohio), 14-0, to win the MAC Tournament title on Saturday.

The winner of the Texas Tech regional will match up with the winner of the Georgia regional in the Super Regional round.