NM State Equestrian Announces Signing Class

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The New Mexico State equestrian team announced its 2011 spring signing class Thursday, May 5. The Aggies signed nine riders to National Letters of Intent, including four Hunter Seat riders and five Western riders.

The Hunter Seat signed Shannon Dooley, Julie Frey, Ruby Jenkins and Beth Solomon, while the Western signees include Andrea Allen, Marissa Bartmann, Lauren DeVoe, Clarissa Edgerton and Brynn Larson.

Dooley, a native of Hampstead, N.H., was an IEA team member from 2010-11 and coached by Monica Hunt. She attended the Emerging Athletes Program in 2011 and completed level 1. In 2010, Dooley made the New Hampshire Equitation finals, taking first place and attended the zone finals for the IEA riding team. She was also a finalist at the USEF Hunt Seat Medal Finals and ASPCA Maclay Finals in 2010. Dooley also earned a top-20 finish at the New England Finals-Junior Medals in 2010. She is also an honor roll student at Pinkerton Academy Derry.

Frey, of Colorado Springs, Colo., is a member of the Colorado Hunter Jumper Association, the USEF, the USHJA and the Interscholastic Equestrian Association. In 2010, Frey was an IEA National Finals Qualifier and placed fifth at the Zone Eight Children’s Jumper. In 2009, she was Medal Finals Qualifier and made the CHJA Medal Finals Qualifier in 2008. Frey has multiple placings, a Champion and Reserve Champion in both Low and High Children’s Jumper Summer Circuit at High Prairie summer and fall 2010.

Jenkins, a native of Pocatello, Idaho, has won numerous championships and year-end awards in the Hunters, Equitation and Jumper divisions in seven states including; California, Oregon, Idaho, Arizona, Nevada, Colorado and Montana. She has top wins and placings in prestigious Equitation Medals such as the ASPCA/Maclay, the WIHS Medal, the WCE Junior Medal, the USEF/Pessoa, Marshall and Sterling Children’s Medal, as well as the National Children’s Medal. Jenkins is ranked No. 1 in her graduating class at Century High School and is a member of the National Honor Society.

Solomon, a Hunter Seat rider from Midland, Pa., was the 2010 Children’s Jumper Ocala Champion in 2010. In 2008, Solomon won the Pony Style Award and Zone 2 Silver Medal at the USEF Pony Finals. She also took first in the Marshall and Sterling Pony Jumper Finals and second at the NAL Pony Jumper finals in 2008. Solomon qualified for the Marshall and Sterling Finals in Children’s Jumper and Children’s Equitation. She has taken four years of honors Spanish and is involved in the school newspaper at the Pennsylvania Cyber Charter School.

Allen is a Reining rider from Milton, Ga., where she was an Interscholastic Equestrian Association (IEA) three-time letter winner. She earned a top-10 placing at the IEA National Finals in Reining. She has ridden with top reining trainers Matt Mills (Arizona) and Keith Tidmore (Georgia).

Bartmann, a native of Greeley, Colo., will join the reining squad for the Aggies and is an Appaloosa World Championship Qualifier and the High Point Individual at the 2009 Ranch Horse Competition at the Northern Colorado Riding Club. She won High Point Individual honors at the 2010 Colorado State 4-H Horse Judging Contest and was a member of the 2009 Colorado State 4-H Champion Horse Bowl Team. Bartmann is the Windsor FFA Chapter President and is an honor student at Windsor High School and maintains a 4.0 GPA.

DeVoe will ride in the horsemanship for the Aggies and was a 2010 AQHYA World Championship Semifinalist in Horsemanship and the 2010 Wisconsin Quarter Horse Association (WQHA) Reserve All-Around Youth, Hunt Seat Equitation Champion, Horsemanship Reserve Champion and Trail Reserve Champion. A native of Pewaukee, Wisc., DeVoe also won championships in Horsemanship, Hunter Under Saddle, and Hunt Seat Equitation in the 2010 Badger Quarter Horse Association (BQHA) year end awards. DeVoe earned the 2010 Land of Lincoln Quarter Horse Association (LLQHA) Champion All-Around Youth title as well. DeVoe made the honor roll four years at Pewaukee High School.

Edgerton, a Horsemanship rider from Melvin, Mich., was the 2009 NSBA Non-Pro Maturity Hunter Under Saddle Champion and the 2009 World Champion in Hunter Under Saddle at the PHBA World Championship Show. She also won the 2009 Reserve World Championship in Hunt Seat Equitation at the PHBA World Championship Show and is a four-time qualifier for the AQHYA World Championship Show. Edgerton is the vice president of the Michigan Quarter Horse Youth Association.

Larson will join the Horsemanship squad for the Aggies and was the 2010 PtHA World Champion in Western Riding and Hunt Seat Equitation, while also placing in the top-10 at the 2010 APHA World Championship Show in Western Riding and Hunt Seat Equitation. She was the 2010 Washington State High School Equestrian Gold Medal Winner in Trail, Stock Seat, and Hunt Seat. Larson is a Hockinson High School honor student and Equestrian Team letter winner, and is a member of the Clark County 4-H Executive Board.